## UÅHAN

## I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2011 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 296-3/(Lox)

Introduced by:

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

A. B. Palacios, Sr. My

Relative to congratulating and recognizing the newly-elected Officers, Board of Directors and Board of Trustees of the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam on the occasion of their induction on January 7, 2012; to commending the organization's outgoing Officers, Board of Directors and Board of Trustees; and to further extending a sincere *Un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse* to the organization's members for their contributions to our Island Community.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTAI

## UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, in 1962, the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam (FLAG) was founded by a group of Filipinas headed by Mrs. Bea Macaraeg to foster unity and closer relations among members and to conserve and improve the bond of friendship existing among the people of Guam; and

WHEREAS, The Filipino Ladies Association of Guam celebrates its 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary and has demonstrated, through donations, its public-spirited commitment to charitable organizations, including the ALEE Shelter, Erica's House, Healing Hearts Crisis Center, Down

Syndrome Society, American Cancer Society, American Red Cross, Guam Memorial Hospital Volunteers Association, *Gawad Kalinga*, Sanctuary, Inc., Rainbows for All Children, the Public Broadcasting System, Carmelites Sisters Monastery, the Guam Girls Scouts and the Japan Club of Guam for the Tsunami Relief Assistance; and

WHEREAS, the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam has provided two (2) scholarships to students of the University of Guam; and

WHEREAS, The Filipino Ladies Association of Guam carries on Philippine traditions such as sponsoring the annual Santacruzan, a cultural event in celebration of the Reyna Elena that showcases a colorful procession, with beautiful decorated arches represented by young ladies wearing their beautiful *mestizas*, in which the community may participate; and

WHEREAS, members of the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam presented the "Sampaguita Award" which recognizes outstanding Filipina women on Guam who have excelled in their profession, business and have dedicated themselves to help many other Filipina women and girls better their lives, making a difference in the lives of others and in the community; and

WHEREAS, the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam celebrated the "Grandparents Day" and offered a "Thanksgiving Mass" in honor of the Founding Members and FLAG Members who have faithfully served the missions of the club. A planting of a sweet fragrant flowering *Sampaguita* was held at the Skinner Plaza to commemorate its 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary and in keeping with its beautification project; and

WHEREAS, the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam celebrated this 50<sup>th</sup> Christmas by visiting the Adult Day Care Center of Catholic Social Services and bring gifts and Christmas Cheers to its clients; and

WHEREAS, the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam 2012 Officers are President Leonila Ronquilo, Vice-President Lorie Castelo, Secretary Jenny Howard, Corresponding Secretary Aurora Leonen and Treasurer Gloria Baguinon. The 2012 Board of Directors are Aida Custodio, Rita Dominguez, Coring Edusma, Violeta Lacson, Annie Hernandez Lumba, Zeny Asuncion Nace, Chet Brocka Neri, Irene Quenga, Susan La Rosa and Teresita Swift. The 2012 Board Of Trustees are Annie V.T. Gozum-Soto, Patricia Birosel, Aida Custodio, Teresita Swift, Rita Domiguez, Nilda Estampador, Rose Hidalgo, Mimi Jardiolin, Aurora Leonen, Annie Hernandez Lumba, Aida Miranda, Chet Brocka Neri, Fe Singh, Sabina Tamondong and Lynda Tolan; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of I Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people of Guam, congratulates and recognizes the newly-elected Officers, Board of Directors and Board of Trustees of the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam on the occasion of

their induction on January 7, 2012 and commends the out-going Officers, Board of Directors and Board of Trustees for their service to their organization and to the broader community of Guam; and

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of I Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people of Guam, extends a sincere Un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse to the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam members for their contributions to our Island Community; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam; to President Leonila Ronquilo, Vice-President Lorie Castelo, Secretary Jenny Howard, Corresponding Secretary Aurora Leonen and Treasurer Gloria Baguinon; to Patricia Birosel, Aida Custodio, Rita Dominguez, Coring Edusma, Nilda Estampador, Annie V.T. Gozum-Soto, Rose Hidalgo, Mimi Jardiolin, Violeta Lacson, Annie Hernandez Lumba, Aida Miranda, Zeny Asuncion Nace, Chet Brocka Neri, Irene Quenga, Susan La Rosa, Fe Singh, Teresita Swift, Sabina Tamondong and Lynda Tolan; to the Honorable Madeleine Z. Bordallo, Guam's Delegate to the United States Congress; and to the Honorable Edward B. Calvo, I Måga'lahen Guahan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA TRENTAL UNU A NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE	
JUDITH T. WONPAT, Ed.D	DODY I DECDICIO
Speaker	RORY J. RESPICIO Chairperson, Committee on Rules
TINA ROSE MUÑA-BARNES	
Legislative Secretary	